PDA

View Full Version : Help a Newbie, Which Eheim should I get for my 135G tank???

cab5er
01-21-2003, 03:51 AM
hi guys
I currently have a 46 bowfront community tank with lots of different tetras and stuff. Well, I recently just picked up a used 135G tank dimensions 6'x2'x1.5. Any ways I am new to the discus scene just wondering what you all think about the filters I am looking at and hopefully get some opinions. I am looking at getting either the eheim Pro II 2028 or the eheim WET/DRY FILTER 2229. Are these filters all right? Which would you choose and why? also should I run a protein skimmer, will that be beneficial? I was thinking about the prizm skimmer along with one of the eheims? sorry for all the questions but just wanted to do some research and get some opinions before I actually buy my filter. TIA. This is the last step before I can start cycling the tank so please help me out.

;DEric T.

Nate
01-21-2003, 04:02 AM
If you're trying to keep discus...don't waste your time with a cannister filter. Stick to sponge filters and possibly aquaclears. Wet dry filters will work, but why spend that much money? Sponge's do the trick just fine. Protein skimmers have no place in a freshwater tank. Use the money to buy fish.

JMO,
Nate

Jorge las Heras
01-21-2003, 07:06 AM
Sponge filters are OK for bare-bottom tanks (quarantine, medical, breeding), but not for a bowfront community tank with lots of different tetras and stuff.

A Eheim is a very good option, and the 2028 or 2128 (that's termofilter, I have one) will work very well.

I don't like the intervalic (not really w/d) 2229. It can be used only as biological filter, but not mechanical. In planted aquariums w/d are not very good because eliminates too much CO2.

Protein skimmers have no place in a freshwater tank, only work in saltwater.

Dennis_Hardenburge
01-21-2003, 10:08 AM
In my large tanks, and they are bare bottom, I use two hydro sponge five filters and an eheim 2028 with a sponge over the intake.