PDA

View Full Version : Starting again!

BlueTurquoise
01-23-2003, 01:05 AM
Hi guys!

I have not asked these questions in a long time. It is bitter sweet that I am asking them again as I have come full circle with my fish.

I can't decide on what to do! I will start from the beginning with around 8 new juveniles. What i can't decide is the number of them and what strain! Ok I have will set up my 4ft, 55 gal tank as a primary grow out. I would like to stock these with juveniles about the 3 inch mark, no larger. Maybe even smaller if the price is right and the quality is good. I can afford to have a few more fish than just 8 but I plan for the long term here (ie grow till adult). I can get 8-10 and sell the few that are not so good later on when they are larger but if the past is a good indication they will grow fast. Remember I am only a hobbyist and I am limited by my wife's constant nagging ;D .

I can't decide on whether to go a single strain and get 8 red alenquers or 8 rsg or 8 wild greens, or even 8 white swans or something along those lines. That way I can then start a reasonable breeding population of the same strain later on in a few years time.

Everytime I think in that line of thought I look at how many strains there are today and my head spins! there are so many pretty fish out there that one strain just isn't enough! I want a fish room so badly it's not funny *sulk* :-[ :'( *ahem* sorry... Yes so what would you do in my case? go for the one strain? go for 4 of 1 type and 4 of another? is 10 too many?

I want to wait until the Discus show in March where I can talk up a deal with many breeders there. Rod seems also to have something coming up in march (woops i hope that wasn't supposed to be a secret Rod!). :-\

Chong

01-23-2003, 01:20 AM
chong,