PDA

View Full Version : Lansing, Michigan Tap Water?

Gnome
01-30-2003, 01:26 PM
Does anybody know if Lansing, Michigan water has chloramines or chlorine. I always use some aquasafe to treat water.
Can any one give me the specifics on the water.
Thanks.
Gnome

RAWesolowski
01-30-2003, 02:17 PM
Gnome,

Go to your city website and look under the water utility section. The Kalamazoo water utility does a very good job of keeping theirs up-to-date. It sghould give ranges for minerals as well as additives to the water.

spartyblaze
01-31-2003, 06:10 PM
Gnome:
I have kept fish in East Lansing for the last 3 1/2 years, always using straight tap water w/ 1ml of SeaChem Prime per 10g change. I am a discus newbie and have done daily changes w/my discus for about two months now and haven't noticed any problems with any chloramine or chlorine(I age/aerate my water for an average of about 6hrs, just to mix the prime, etc.) I'm not sure if this water quality carries true for the Lansing, but I live in the Frandor Area, so it's pretty close to the border.

I hope this helps
Blaze.

PS - Where do you buy your fish from? I know there's a local Lansing-Based breeder (via a source at Preuss Animal House) but I can't seem to find him. I just can't justify paying 69.95 for pigeon spotted discus like they usually sell there.

Gnome
01-31-2003, 08:59 PM
Gnome:
I have kept fish in East Lansing for the last 3 1/2 years, always using straight tap water w/ 1ml of SeaChem Prime per 10g change. I am a discus newbie and have done daily changes w/my discus for about two months now and haven't noticed any problems with any chloramine or chlorine(I age/aerate my water for an average of about 6hrs, just to mix the prime, etc.) I'm not sure if this water quality carries true for the Lansing, but I live in the Frandor Area, so it's pretty close to the border.

I hope this helps
Blaze.