PDA

View Full Version : American Marine Ph Pinpoint Monitor

Barb Newell
02-02-2003, 06:17 PM
I picked up my ocean greens today. A Ph monitor came with them. They also gave me fluid to calibrate it. I've never used one of these before, when I put it in the water it jumps around quite a bit and never really locks into a ph. Is it supposed to do this? Also, do I mix the calibrating fluid with water when adjusting it?

I'd appreciate any info on these.

Thanks

Barb

Steve_Warner
02-02-2003, 07:20 PM
Hi all,
Barb, the fluid they gave you is the fluid to calibrate the probe in. Do not mix anything in with it and just put the probe into the fluid to calibrate. There should be a calibration button/mode to enter into on the meter to calibrate the meter. My meter has a "Cal" button, which is pushed before you go to calibrate the meter. The display will start blinking when this button is pressed signifying that the calibration mode has been activated. When the meter hits and holds the stated value on the particular fluid you have for it(4,7,10), you would then push another button(mine is the "Hold") to set the meter. You are then calibrated. HTH

Steve

02-02-2003, 07:58 PM
Barb, if the probe has been dry for a good length of time sorry to say it is most likely toast. That would cause your unstable readings. As Steve stated the fluid should be used without mixing anything with it.....Good luck I hope it works for you....................Randy

daninthesand
02-02-2003, 08:09 PM
Barb.

A small point, but an important one regarding calibration solutions (of any kind).

The calibration solution is the standard by which all other measurements with the device will be compared. If the calibration solution is tampered with, it will affect all other readings.