PDA

View Full Version : Water Changes

Darren
02-13-2003, 11:09 PM
Hello Everyone! I am new to forum! Not new to discus. I've been keeping them for three yrs. (but still feel like a novice). Regardless, question concerning water changes. I see a lot of people who post on this site change water up two 100% changes twice daily?? I've been doing 25-30% changes 2-3 times per week since I've been keeping them with no apparent problems. Isn't this enough or should I be doing more? Keep in mind Discus is my hobby, not my life.

Thanks,

Darren

Ralph
02-13-2003, 11:40 PM
Hi Darren, Welcome to Simply!
The 200% per day is on the far end of the WC spectrum. Most of the serious discus keepers are in the 25% to 50% per day range. But it also depends on the fish load in the tank and the age of the discus (young ones get fed more and need more of a water change). You can of course get by with less than 25% per day but your fish may not get as big (if you have young ones). I'm a pragmatist though, if what you are doing is working and has for a while, then you are probably fine.

Smokey
02-15-2003, 08:09 PM
Welcome Darren; perhaps a simple answer to your question - change water when the NITRATES are up to 5 - 10 ppm !!! AND CHANGE ENOUGH WATER TO BRING THE NITRATES BACK DOWN TO 0 ppm.
Try this for a week or so and then tell me what you observe reguarding your discus behaviour. I believe you'll see a remarkable change.
Sound like work, nah - just part of the fun.
Cheaper than working out at the gym!!!

Smokey
Good Luck, buddy.

Jameson
02-16-2003, 04:45 AM
What if your tap water has 4 ppm nitrates almost all the time?

jc

Carol_Roberts
02-16-2003, 11:40 PM
I have the roots of philodendron in my tanks, with the leaves draped across the back. They use the nitrates.

Darren
02-17-2003, 09:29 AM
Smokey,