PDA

View Full Version : My most recent endeavor (lots of pics)

ChloroPhil
02-20-2003, 10:50 PM
Hey,
Here it is folks, my masters dissertation on Biotope Aquascaping...

Ok, it's actually a bunch of pics of an Amazon tank I just finished at the local science museum. Sorry, no discus, I don't trust them that much...the angels are enough. :(

The tank is acutually much brighter than the pictures would indicate 2 MH pendants over a 6' tank. But, due to the spectrum and ambient lighting I had to mess with the exposure to get a decent pic. I actually like the darker tones more than the actual view.

Fish: 8 Pterophyllum scalare "Marble" and "Gold" Angels, 15 Spotted Raphael catfish.

Substrate: Eco-Grow (first time using it...not sure how it'll work. I personally think it's a bunch of hogwash, but we'll see how the test of time goes.) Various grains of Estes gravel

Plants: About 30 Echinodorus bleheri of various sizes.

NOTE: I'm a professional, do NOT attempt this at home. (I've always wanted to say that) Seriously though, this isn't something one would/should do under normal hobbiest circumstances. These plants are going to quickly _dominate_ this 72"x24"x30" tank. Jean-Michelle Cousteau premiered a movie at the museum and we had to shove this thing full of plants to make it look good for the reception. I hope to replace a large number of the smaller swords with E. bolivianus in the near future.

ChloroPhil
02-20-2003, 10:50 PM
another

ChloroPhil
02-20-2003, 10:51 PM
4 of 5

ChloroPhil
02-20-2003, 10:51 PM
5 of 5

Ralph
02-20-2003, 11:10 PM
Is that an actual tree coming out of the top of that tank?
Wow, Phil, that must be fun setting up tanks with someone else's money, or does it just become a job after awhile?