PDA

View Full Version : Earthworms

Steve_Warner
02-26-2003, 01:21 AM
Hi all,
Anyone with experience with these worms.......what should I keep a whole bunch in. I collected about 200 tonight from my walkway due to rains. They are nice sized red ones, not the monster nightcrawlers.........maybe red wigglers? Thanks

Steve

Carol_Roberts
02-26-2003, 01:57 AM
Walmart has worm keepers and worm bedding in the fishing section

Francisco_Borrero
02-26-2003, 10:52 AM
Hi Steve:
As Carol says, Walmart has useful stuff. I don't use theirs but I have seen it and it is good.
I use plastic containers with drilled holes on the bottom and no lid (the lid I place on the bottom as a catch for any excess liquid). I put a piece of loosely laid heavy plastic on top of the bedding, to maintain humidity and keep light out.
I have been running two worm bins for about 3 years now and I like them a lot. My worms are red wigglers, but I believe your nightcrawlers will do fine as long as you feed the small ones to your fish. I don't believe yours are red wigglers, as they are said not to be able to withstand the winter and don't burrow deep (....actually I don't know where you live, so I don't know what they are). I have never tried culturing the garder worms, but a book I have says they do okay but are not as prolific and Eisenia foetida (red wigglers). I find that my fish (adult wilds) have a hard time eating the very fattest worms (even chopped up) but will chomp happily at smaller ones or pieces of them.
After trying several media, what has worked best for me is a mixture of peat moss (I use spent peat after using it for conditioning my discus replacement water) and shredded newspaper. When I used either material by itself, neither did as well as the mixture. A couple of books suggest using only black and white portions of newspaper (no color pages) as the colors are said to contain substantial amounts of heavy metals.