PDA

View Full Version : newb question

Qbal18
03-01-2003, 01:57 PM
i am new to this. i have 2 discus abotu 2.5" right now i anly have store bought fish food. BW, tetra colorbits trpical granules,tetracichlid mini granueles and flake food that i have mixed up from a few diferent types. now i keep seeing stuff about beef heart and bbs now i see the resipies but still really dont understand. how long would it last for 2 discs, acually 4 i am getting 2 more in a day. is it more or less $ then stuff from the lfs and is so is there any particular tyrp of home made food that is better. and last with the beef heart to you cook it first(how) and what type.
i just want to give my fish the best food i can what i have

Carol_Roberts
03-01-2003, 02:32 PM
Since you only have two (soon to be four) discus the diet you're feeding now is fine. I personally think beefheart is really messy. The fish stores sell frozen mixes if you want to try it.

darcy
03-01-2003, 03:06 PM
Yeah the beefheart is kinda messy!! But my fish love it, so I keep feeding it!!! My fish really don't leave much beefheart in the tank for me to siphon,which is fine by me. the fish store mixes up here in Canada are expensive and I get more bang for the buck by making it myself. I also agree with Carol your discus diet should be fine.
darcy

PS no you don't cook the heart!!!!

03-01-2003, 03:20 PM
When making b/h make sure you let the meat drain for an hour or so. That way most of the blood is drained away. It is best to feed b/h prior to doing water changes.

HTH
Dodge

Francisco_Borrero
03-02-2003, 12:32 AM
There are other frozen foods you may want to try, all in the spirit of providing your fish a varied diet. Frozen mysids are an excellent food to add in a rotation of various items.