PDA

View Full Version : White worms? how to get rid of? What are they?

tony2001
03-12-2003, 01:08 AM
Help, ???

I have searched this site but Im not sure what I have Planaria, flukes ?????

I have white thread like worms about 1/4 to 1/2 in long that wiggle in the water. Im new to discus and have never seen these and all I ever see is microscopic views of critters, but never a REAL life photo that looks like what I got.

My camera cant seem to focus well enough to get a picture or I would posted it.

I have a pair of breeding Discus in a 29 gal that I newly set up. I moved the Discus over to the new tank in an attemp to rid the worms and a week later I see them again.

The pair just laid eggs again and last time when I came back from vacation the wrigglers that had hatch were gone. I lost power and the temp was at 74 when I got home. I dont know if the temp or the worms got the wrigglers.

Im afraid that the worms might harm my pair. I had 4 discus in a community tank and after they laid eggs the third time I seperated them with a divider. My little is guy(3in compared to 4-5" the rest are at, he was bought at the same time and always seemed stunted) then got sick and died about 2 weeks later.

I really started to notice the worms in the sick tank. My other discus that was seperated also is looking bad. He is tails standing. I dont know if the worms are related to these symptoms or the death of my little one?

After I moved all the discus out of my 55, I removed all the gravel and cleaned out the tank and the filter. I rinsed it out and then filled it up.
I let it set for 2-3 days. I started the filter today and I see the same worms. I dont know if they were in the filter or in the water cause I didn't check. Could they be in the water?

1. Are these worm like things flukes? Planeria?
2. Can they be harmful?
3. How do you get rid of them? :o
4. Are they in the water possible? ???
5. Anybody have good pics of links to good pics of actual worms let me know.