PDA

View Full Version : what type of Discus is this please?

chrissyoscar
03-13-2003, 10:21 PM
Hi I'm new to Discus keeping and I purchased a few fish the other day. The guy I got them from wasn't sure what type they were so I'm hoping someone can help.

darcy
03-13-2003, 10:26 PM
Hi Welcome to Simply!!!!!
The fish you have purchased are pigeon bloods!!
Darcy

chrissyoscar
03-14-2003, 02:27 AM
Thanks Darcy for your help.

Here's another discus I've got but not sure what type he is.
Can anybody please help. Sorry about the poor photo.

Carol_Roberts
03-14-2003, 02:41 AM
The second photo looks like a snakeskin - does it have 14 vertical bars? These guys all look underfed. :-\ Are they eating for you?

chrissyoscar
03-14-2003, 02:41 AM
Here's a slightly better photo. Color isn't the best as I've just got him and he's a little dark from stress.

chrissyoscar
03-14-2003, 02:50 AM
Thanks Carol.

I've just got 4 discus and will be giving them some proper food so hopefully they'll fatten up in the next few weeks.
One of the pigeon bloods has a few white spots on his fin and I've also got another fish who's in bad shape any advise for me please.

Carol_Roberts
03-14-2003, 02:51 AM
Yep, that's a snakeskin. The picture you posted on the disease board is probably a blue diamond. Did you get four discus?

chrissyoscar
03-14-2003, 03:07 AM
Yeah I got 4 from him last night. I knew the blue diamond wasn't in the best condition but the other 3 seemed a lot healthier so I got the lot. He wouldn't seperate them and the price was low so I took the gamble.

Carol_Roberts
03-14-2003, 03:21 AM
These guys really need to go into a barebottom hospital tank. Do you have an extra 20 gallon tank? They should have daily water changes and possibly a course of metronidazole (hex-a-mit). Have you seen them eat or poop?

03-14-2003, 10:45 AM