PDA

View Full Version : Peat Filtration

FishGuru
03-25-2003, 08:48 PM
Hi, I was wondering if peat would have any impact on my water. Straight out the tap my water is 7.6 pH, 15gh, and 12kh, what would peat filtration do to my water??? Any experience on this subject would be great (as i am a newbie to discus). Thanks!

Carol_Roberts
03-25-2003, 08:50 PM
Not much. My well water is GH 11, pH 7.8

Surfghost63
03-26-2003, 04:48 PM
Hi FishGuru, welcome to Simplydiscus :wave:

In my first two months I used Sera Peat granules to reduce the ph and hardness of my tap water, as it was a chore and the Ph only dropped around .5 so I decided to stop using it, my tap water is 7.5 - 7.6 Ph, 6 Gh and 3 Kh, I leave it alone.

HTH,

Bill :guitarist:

P.S. I followed Carol's advices, they are great :ok:

Jason
03-26-2003, 06:34 PM
canadian peat is worth a try it works alot better than euro peat (ie: sera pellets, hagen peat plates).

I suspect that with a kh of 12 your water is pretty well buffered against a ph change.....but there are alot of benifits to useing peat besides lowering ph.

treat peat like a tool,just like anything else you use ro units, siphon hoses, meds...etc etc

Smokey
03-31-2003, 07:09 PM
Hi FishGuru: Hope I can share my expierences, reguarding the use of peat to condition water.

I have been using a 4 gallon peat filter, for my water for about 6 months now. I am extrememy happy with the reuslts/water/

ex: my tap water parameters are =
pH - 8.5
gh - 450ppm
kh - 450ppm
chlorine - 2ppm
ammonia - 2ppm

I set the tap water to run at about 85'F. I then have the water flow through a sealed container, full of peat moss- ( ~4 gallons of peat).

The peat filtered water parameters are:
pH - 6.5
gh - ~35ppm
kh - ~ 15ppm
I treat the peat filtered water for chlorine and ammonia in the storage container.