PDA

View Full Version : Just got my first pair of Discus!

Fishaholic
03-26-2003, 11:58 PM
I am so excited ;D

They are a pair of 2.5" Turqoise. I checked out a few LFS' in town and ended up at the one I trust the most of course. I could not believe the quality of them. I am by no means a Discus expert, but these were by far the most round (no footballs) fish I had looked at and had the nice small red eye.

They're currently in the bag being acclimated to my pH level, which is about 1.5 points higher than the LFS (5.6 to 7.2) :o so I am taking my time.

They are going into my 48g with some Rainbows and an Angel of the same size. They should be fine together, but if not, the Discus will certainly not be the fish that have to leave.

They are so cool :D

slicksta
03-27-2003, 12:08 AM
Go Fishaholic......it's your birthday!!!

Carol_Roberts
03-27-2003, 01:13 AM
I hope you have them in the tank by now. Discus do OK going into higher pH and they hate being in bags :o

Fishaholic
03-27-2003, 01:33 AM
I hope you have them in the tank by now. Discus do OK going into higher pH and they hate being in bags :o

Yes, I released them after about 3 hours in the bag. It was longer than I wanted to keep them in there, but I did manage to get the pH within half a point. Whether or not that 3 hours will make up for the other point, I don't know.

They seem a little disorientated and are just kind of checking things out, but I'm sure they'll be fine.

DarkDiscus
03-27-2003, 10:02 AM
Fishaholic,

Congratulations on your first discus!

John

mench
03-27-2003, 10:15 AM
Congrats on the new fish,just a word of advice...lose the angel...discus +angels= trouble....maybe not right away but you WILL have problems down the road.I am speaking from experence.
Also don't be so concerned about ph,discus are tough guys when it comes to ph,just don't let it get either way too high..upper 8 or 9 or too low 4's...you will do fine...good luck

Mench

Fishaholic
03-27-2003, 10:45 PM