PDA

View Full Version : proud owner of a 150 gallon tank~

Tristanyyz
04-15-2003, 11:58 PM
Tomorrow, i will recieve my brand new 150 gallon tank!!!!! :bounce:

I have never worked with this size tank before...so this will be a new adventure. I have prepared however...i have set up for the ability to change up to 100gallons every two days, and pump the water quite efficiently with a magpump 950...water changes were more difficult with my current 35 gallon tank...the old fashioned way...

My question is...is their any preparations that i might wish to research specific to maintaining a 150 gallon tank??? I will be operating two Ehiem canasters...a 2128 thermal, and a 2215...

Any input would be greatly appreciated!!!

slicksta
04-16-2003, 08:09 AM
Good Luck!!!!

To me everything is basicly the same.....just on a larger scale. I do the same for my 155 as I do my 72 and 20........
The only thing I would suggest is on a tank that size you may want to go Wet/Dry.....I did and I love it...........

Tristanyyz
04-16-2003, 09:59 AM
Hey, thanks!

I was considering wet/dry, but ultimately went with the filters I have selected.

Any thoughts on cycling a 150 gallon tank? I was thinking of putting my wc's from my 35, (15 gallons/day) plus new RO say about 75 or so...and get it running that way.

I'm not sure I want to mess around with ammonia, raise the nitrates, etc...as suggested in some articles.

Anyways, I am going to recieve the monster tank late this afternoon, I am anxious...its like Christmas!

pops
04-16-2003, 10:02 AM
hi "T",
great now what is the size-LxWxH in ins for us dummys in us. ; ??? ??? ::) ;D

Tristanyyz
04-16-2003, 10:52 AM
Well interesting you should ask...I was previously looking at a 125 gallon tank that was 72L X 24H X 18W....and then the 150 caught my eye!

What I liked about the 150 was the extra height...being 72L X 30H X 18W...an extra 6 inches to be precise!!!!