PDA

View Full Version : Be honest about this

jdr3366
05-14-2003, 11:14 PM
Hi all,

This might be a question for a poll on Simply, but I will just ask for comments from the group.

After you buy a group of 4 or 8 or 10 discus from your LFS or breeder, what percentage of them will be alive after one year? Perhaps we should separate mortality among juveniles and adults.

I think there is a tendency to underestimate discus mortality. As with other things in life, I think we underestimate our 'failures.'

Your replies are appreciated.

John R

jdr3366
05-14-2003, 11:28 PM
In addition, please indicate whether you are a breeder or a casual discus hobbiest. Also, if your discus live in a bare or planted tank.

John R

rickk
05-14-2003, 11:47 PM
Hi John

I'm brand new to the hobby, started in January this year. I have purchased 45 Discus so far. Up untill 3 weeks ago I had a 100% sucess rate. Then I purchased 25 discus which were imported, within a week I had lost 7 from the 25 and also 1 which I already had (slim) and I just lost 1 a week ago from an injury .

Being so new to the hobby this may not help you

Regards

Rick

TnMark
05-15-2003, 12:02 AM
I bought my first 8 discus about 4 months ago. One died in a heater accident (my fault) and a second died mysteriously (unknown cause). The other 6 are doing well.
Mark

Tristanyyz
05-15-2003, 12:58 AM
When I first got discus years ago, I killed them all. This was based upon bad advice from a LFS Manager, who told me fish like old tank water...etc.

Then I took a 5 year vacation from them, now I am back full force. I have 25 fish, and lost one, one inch blue snakeskin. He overate ::)

bmrin1
05-15-2003, 10:09 AM
John
I think that all depends on you. With proper care they should all be alive. Accidents do happen like heaters sticking, fish jumping out etc. If none of these happen then if you bought from a reputable breeder then they should be healthy to start. Remember to always Qt new fish from your others.