PDA

View Full Version : Why discus are easier 2nd time around.

remikz
06-06-2003, 06:05 PM
Even though i'm very new to keeping discus, i've learned so much about water chemistry, keeping discus and even breeding them (one day :)).

Most of the knowledge I have gathered came from this board so i'd like to thank you all for that, and for continuing to help me in the future!

Looking back on my 2 months of being Discus Dad, I cringe at all the mistakes I have made along the way. I know why my tank and fish are not perfect, why i've had disease problems and exactly how to avoid these issues in the future. I hope nobody thinks it's innapropriate of me to post this because i'm no expert, but i'm learning from my fish and from simplydiscus.com

1. If you don't have a quarrantine tank, never buy fish from a LFS and always buy all your fish in one go. Buy from a breeder, and make sure they are top quality! Local Fish Shops and major fish stores mostly always have some disease and ill fish, NO MATTER WHAT.

2. If you keep more than one tank or are introducing new fish to an existing tank, quarrantine, quarrantine, quarrantine, quarrantine.

3. Water chemistry is more important than ever before. Find out what you need it to be, and try to keep it there. Temp, Ph, TDS, GH and KH.

4. Water changes, probably 70% of all posts on this board will tell you why w/c is so important to discus.

I know there is much much more, but it these are the mistakes I have made or would have made being new to discus. I will never make these mistakes again and I will always keep the best fish!

A lot of people keep discus in poor conditions and claim to have no problems. But poor condition tank = poor condition fish. These people just don't notice. The experts certainly will. To have the greatest discus you must really care for them.

Thank you simplydiscus.com

---Ian

RyanH
06-07-2003, 01:35 PM