PDA

View Full Version : tuna instead of beef heart????

Mattzilla
06-18-2003, 08:38 PM
a friend of mine makes his own discus food with a similar recipe to most bh recipes. instead of bh he uses tuna. has anyone else used this before? he says it doesn't foul up the water and is good for the discus. i'd just like to hear anyones thoughts and experiences using it as i'm thinking of giving the recipe a go. i have never used bh because i am new to discus and was a little unsure of it because i have heard it fouls the water too much.

thanks everyone

Miles
06-19-2003, 01:24 AM
Matt,
I have never used Tuna in B/H before. I guess as long as it is packed in water or even fresh it probably would not hurt. Have you tried salmon in place of B/H? It does not foul the water near as bad as B/H does.

HTH
Miles

fishfarm
06-19-2003, 08:44 AM
Many Asian breeders use tuna and other salt water fish instead of beefheart as the beef is expensive and fish relativly cheap in their countries. Works real well.

RichieE
06-19-2003, 11:01 AM
I bought a Wattley frozen cube that had tuna instead of beefheart. It was about a year ago so I dont know if its still around. The fish ate it but they didnt attack it like beefheart. Over time they probally would have adjusted. I dont go to the LFS that carries it very often. Thats the only reason I didnt continue. Rich

brewmaster15
06-19-2003, 11:06 AM
Hi Matt,
I have tried canned Tuna ( not The fresh stuff) that was packed in water and found it to be too oily, and My fish didn't really go crazy for it. I wound up with an oil slick on the tank, and cloudy water when they picked at it.

Fresh tuna may be much different, but here that would run me about $5-7 a pound.

hth,
al

Paulio
06-19-2003, 01:54 PM