PDA

View Full Version : Discus are SPAWNING "NOW"

discusnovice
07-13-2003, 06:50 PM
I just took a look in my tank and my Red Turq and Orange Pigonblood are spawning. These fish are much too young to spawn from what I understand.

As my name implies I am a real novice and this is my first discus in 25 years or so. I purchased 5 discus that arrived on Feb 14th and they were all in the 1 1/2 to 2 1/2 in or so. The Red Turq was the largest at that time and is now 5 in or less as is the Orange Pigonblood.

I have no desire to raise discus and no desire to have a second tank. I have a 29 gallon which is too small for the five that I do have. I jsut last week put a divider in to seperate these two from the other as I wanted to allow the other three to eat with our the bullying that was going on. I never dreamed they had paired up, etc. etc.

I hae tried to call the person that I purchased them from to ask a few questions but got his answering maching.

I would like to discuss this with someone. I will be happy to call you if you will let me know as I have lots of questions.

THANKS!! Tulsa, OK

discusnovice
07-13-2003, 08:05 PM
Phone number (918) 760-5754

Carol_Roberts
07-13-2003, 08:19 PM
Take a deep breath, it's going to be OK. Rarely do discus raise a spawn their first try. Even if they do get them to the freeswimming stage the other fish will most likely eat them.

Sit back and enjoy the show. Just because they are laying eggs doesn't mean you have to raise them. It's not like puppies and kitties. As long as the other fish are in the 29 I doubt you'll have to find homes for baby discus ;)

discusnovice
07-13-2003, 09:12 PM