PDA

View Full Version : need saltwater help..cmon cmon i'm impatient ;)

ReeferKimberly
07-15-2003, 09:07 PM
ok i need some saltwater experts. i know NOTHING and i mean NOTHING about anything saltwater. i want to start my 55 gallon as a my first saltwater tank. i have everything and more for a fresh tank, what else to do i need for a salty? i know i need...salt, sand probly, and whats a protien skimmer, is it nessecary?
ok gimme links, knowledge, anything you have cuz i need it alkl! what are the steps to be taken? can i cycle a salty with a freshwater filter? do i need a totally diff filter? what are the heating requirements?

as you see, i need to know everything!
thanks guys!
kimberly

AndyL
07-15-2003, 10:54 PM
http://reefcentral.com/

Go read up :) Totally different systems; for a reef filtration is based on live rock and current (flow from powerhead etc), think of them as pre-cycled filters with free flora/fauna :)

Andy

Richman
07-15-2003, 10:57 PM
Hi Kim,

I'm no expert but I have had a few salt water tanks over the years, so I'll try to answer a few of your questions real quick.
You will need more things than is necessary for fresh water.
There is a variety of substrate that can be used. I am partial to sand because I found it easy to vacumn with the large end of the python and easy to clean. It also comes in a variety of colors. U can also use crushed coral, and other choices. You will need a hydrometer to measure the specific gravity of the water and salt water test kits.
And of course, salt. I used Instant Ocean. Any brand will do I'm sure.
Yes, a protien skimmer is a good choice. It's purpose is to remove solids and waste from the water to reduce polution. This is advisable in a salt tank, as water changes are much more expensive and you probably won't be doing them every day. LOL Every time you do one, you will have to use more salt mixture. It isn't as easy as fresh water changes.