PDA

View Full Version : Confessions of OverCrowding: Confess Here

Bruce
07-22-2003, 11:14 AM
Okay - I can't be the only member of the board who understands the unusually high bio-loads discus place on an aquarium, and the unusually strict water quality requirements, and still insists on overcrowding the tank simply because discus look so much better in dense schools. And we all maintain discus for their looks right? Certainly its not because of their personality, intelligence, or ability to bond with their owners.

The 10g to 1 rule sounds like a nice, conservative # for beginners who don't know what they are doing. I'm a discuss beginner who doesn't know what he's doing either; but I'm now up to 20 discus, spread evenly from 3-5", in a custom 60g (proportions of a 10g).

I run an Emperor 400 and HydroSponge III, and an additional airstone for 90% surface agitation. I think none of this matters too much. I've become a water-change nut. Every 8 hours I change out 75% with stabilized/treated/heated/agitated water. I've increased the water storage size, doubled the outflow & refill capacities of my pumps, and enhanced the waste water plumbing to hit both the garden terrace and the sewage cleanout plug. I've adjusted my work, workout, family, social, and personal schedule in order to change water ("thanks for the promotion, Boss, but my fish comes first.")

So far, the test kits available to me as a hobbyist show virtually undetectable levels of ammonia, nitrite, nitrates, and chlorine just before a water change. I do the sniff test w/nose touching the water surface & can't perceive any odors at all. I might sound sick but I actually drank some of it to prove a point to my wife, and it was pretty much like bottled water, no taste, yet better tasting than tap-water (probably because of the chlorine in tap).