PDA

View Full Version : collecting bbs

daninthesand
07-31-2003, 10:24 PM
Hi gang.

I have been trying to hatch some bring shrimp lately since I need them for the angel fry I got. This is my first time hatching bbs, and I have no trouble getting them to hatch. Trouble is I can't seem to get them to collect at the bottom like I read other people do. I am turning off the air, shining the light near the bottom of the 2 litre bottle and I even turn off the overhead lights in case they are attracted to those and end up at the top.

Problem is the little buggers don't go down. They sort of collect on the light side of the bottle, but at all depths. They don't congregate at the bottom. Needless to say it makes it impossible to easily siphon them out.

What am I doing wrong?

Daniel

07-31-2003, 10:33 PM
Hi Daniel

I cover the entire container with a towel and shine a flashlight close to the bottom, say maybe 2 or 3 inches. The bbs should be going up toward the light.

The unhatched eggs will fall to the bottom and the empty shells should be floating on top....... so anywhere inbetween is where you want the light to be shining.

I find using a very large syringe with tubing on the end of it makes for easier collecting ;)

hth
Beth

daninthesand
07-31-2003, 11:25 PM
Thanks Beth. I will try the towel trick. And maybe a turkey baster...?

Daniel

April
07-31-2003, 11:43 PM
hmmmm....i just disconnect the tubing from the airpump....and suck on it and let it drain into a brine net. and if you want to save the water for continuing on...drain it into a pitcher then pour it back in the bottle to continue bubbliing. easy as pie. i have a harder stiffer older piece of tubing that aims well aim it to the bottom. you should see pink piles on the bottom., but i dont bother withthe light at all. just start draining. they will suck up whereever they are. drain till you see enough in your net.
then i just put the tubing back on the airpump and keep bubbling.

Carol_Roberts