PDA

View Full Version : n00bie questions!

Discus-n00b
08-03-2003, 06:22 PM
Hi all!

I am VERY new to these fish as i am to this forum. I just got a 55 gal tank and want to keep discus. I havn't gotten any filters or anything like that yet. What kind of filters would you recommend? I just need to know what all i need to get when i go to the store. Like a shopping list. :D

What PH is good for discus.....like what range? What other water "stuff" do i need to check for?

I am hoping to set up the tank this week and get my water ready. :D

I have a 25 gal that i am cleaning out to be used as a quarintine/breeding/Water Change holding tank. Is that good?

Anybody breed/sell fish in South Carolina? Columbia area?

Any other info provided will be GREATLY appreciated. :D :D :D :D :D :D

Ardan
08-03-2003, 06:42 PM
Hi and welcome!

Here is a link to an article that Carol wrote. Its really good. http://forum.simplydiscus.com//index.php?board=21;action=display;threadid=9911

Also best to precycle that tank imo before adding the fish.

hth

Discus-n00b
08-03-2003, 06:43 PM
Oh you can bet i will cycle the tank.......always do with whatever fish i have.

Thanx!

Carol_Roberts
08-03-2003, 09:34 PM
Discus like stable pH. So the 25 gallon hold ing tank will be perfect. I bet your tap water pH will be fine. Usually anything we can drink will work for discus. You may need to off gas the CO2 from your water. If you do not have a pH test kit buy one. They can be found at any fish store or even walmart.

Test the pH of your water directly from the tap. Run some tap water into a coffee mug and let it set over night and test the pH again. Mine is 6.8 from the tap and 7.8 after setting overnight. If your numbers are far apart like mine you will need to agitatae your water to off gas the CO2 (bring it up to the level of the tank) Depending on your water you may be able to do this with an airstone or powerhead or pump.

Have you read the articles on fishless cycling?