PDA

View Full Version : Discus stopped eating!Please help!

aqua
09-23-2003, 01:30 PM
Hello Carol and other discus experts and hobbyists,
I have a 4 in PB in a 100 gal tank along with 3 other discus at the same size and 5 discus ranging from 5.5-6.6 inches. This PB always gets some harrassment from another 4in and 5.5in discus during feeding time even I try to scatter the food around the tank. Lately, this PB just spits out the food if he/she got any chance at the worms, and now is not eating at all for almost 10 days. It 's getting skinny. I have a 10gal hospital tank. What would be the temperature of the water for this hospital tank? Do I need to put Epson and/or table salt to this tank? Amount? And/or any kind of medication to get this PB back in shape with a good appetite? Thanks.

09-23-2003, 02:22 PM
Hi Aqua......

I'm no Discus expert here...... but what I would do is move that fish to the qt tank and start raising the temp gradually and offer some live foods..... like CBW's, red worms or even adult brine shrimp. You may also want to add an extra airstone to add more oxygen to the tank..... the heat will deplete most of the oxygen.

Sometimes just raising the temp can increase their appetite. Maybe add 1 TBLs of salt to that 10 gals.

Have you noticed any white feces trailing?

Beth

jeep
09-23-2003, 02:33 PM
Sometimes just raising the temp can increase their appetite. Maybe add 1 TBLs of salt to that 10 gals.

:thumbsup:

Carol_Roberts
09-23-2003, 03:50 PM
Hi Aqua:
Do you have a cycled filter for the 10 gallon? If not you may need to do a couple of water changes per day to keep the ammonia at zero.

If you are going to isolate the PB and raise the temp you might as well add metro (400 - 500 mg every day after a 50% water change for 3 or 4 days - make sure change water is same temp and pH . . . . you can put an airstone and heater in a 5 gallon bucket to adjust pH and temp)