PDA

View Full Version : Discus sick....help a nube out

discus_HI
11-08-2003, 01:54 PM
Aloha All,

Thank you all for your contributions, this site is a wonderfull source of Discus information. I've been browsing here for a little while now and got my first discus last week. So please be patient with me since I am new to discus.

I have one fish that is seeming to have trouble acclimating and I fear it is near death. Since I'm new I guess I didn't recognize there was a problem untill it is probably already too late. He has been hiding at the back and top of my 30gal yesterday and this morning is swiming upsidedown, but not dead yet. His color is not turning dark but he is not showing his red and his top fins are dark, rapid breathing yesterday. He is in a 30 gal tank w/ 8 young (2-4inchers), 50% change daily w/ aged heated w/ ph 7.9, cleaned daily, feed hikari FBW, flake, JW discus formula, tubifex, brine. PH 7.6, nitrate-nitrite=0, ammonia=0, temp 86.

I realize its probably my own fault for missing a clear 'signal' that he wasn't doing right. I have tried salt, 1 tbls per 5 gallons for the last week, no improvement. Last night gave in and started treating w/ formalin which seemed to help all the other fish, but not the sick one. There was no stringy white feces in the tank or visable slime on the fish, no hole int the head, just rapid breathing, loss of color and hiding in the corners.

I could ramble on and on but when it comes down to it I needed some advice on a course of action to save this 3.5' Mellon, he's already swimming upside-down but still breathing for now:(. I fear it's already too late for him but I don't want to loose any more to this mystetry disease.

Help a rookie out please. Any feedback is greatly appreciated. ???

discus_HI
11-08-2003, 02:21 PM
Some more info,

I just re-read Brews help post so here goes:

Symptoms: 1 or 2 of 8 fish is headstanding-labored breathing- faded color-hiding in back cornors of tank.