PDA

View Full Version : How do I get my tank ready?

Eddie C
12-09-2003, 03:14 PM
Hi All,
I'm new to this site. I have a 55gl set up with
1 angel fish, 2 neons, 2 clown loaches, 1 cory, and
1 algae eater. I stopped stocking my tank for a while
because I want to set up with Discus of course. Besides
moving all the fish out of the tank to another, what other steps should I take to make sure the tank is ready for the
discus? How many should I get if it's going to be bare tank
with no gravel and a couple of potted plants.

Thanks,
Eddie 8)

korbi_doc
12-10-2003, 03:36 PM
:bounce2: Hi Eddie, Welcome to Simply! I'm by no means an expert, but you've had no answers yet so here goes! I've also just set up a 55g for new babies. The water needs to have minerals for young stock, heater, lights are an option. My filter is an AC500, an airstone, & 2 sponge filters. One is probably enough. Temp between 84-86*, water ppms, (softness) around 3-400; for breeding much lower, 80 ppms or so, ph ranges are large if you read the forum, but it must be stable, ie. constant!!! We need to know what your water is like, well, municipal, R/O, & what are the parameters of the water you will be using? Do you have a receptacle to store heat & age the water??? How often can you do w/cs?? The BB is best with potted plants ok, they should be adaptable to the warm temps the fish like.
Have you decided what age/size fish you are getting? Feeding & w/cs will/may be different.
Now the tank must be cycled, which yours should be already if these fish you cite have been in there. Be sure you test for ammonia, nitrite, nitrates when you begin..Did I mention W/Cs, W/Cs & more W/Cs????? Now maybe the experts will add to or correct this, lol, Dottie 8) 8)

Eddie C
12-10-2003, 04:26 PM
Thank you Dottie,