PDA

View Full Version : new discus

ecc.oldlady
12-14-2003, 08:39 AM
Hi

I am relatively new to discus, I have 2 blue turks, and 2 pidgeon blood which are only 6 months old,
but I just bought a breeding pair of 2 golden scorpions which are about 12 months or maybe 18 months I can't remember.
They have been in a tank with a ph of 7.0 and I have kept my tank at roughly 6.5 and someone mentioned that putting them in may make them go into a breeding cycle. They have been in the tank 1 week and the ph is now at about 6.7 as I did not realise that it should be more neutral.
Today i noticed my male doing what i think is the shimmy shake to impress his gal, and she has been doing it in return. Their breeding tubes are down, and they are cleaning up a section of a large piece of driftwood that I have in the tank.
I also have 9 neons in the tank, 2 bristlenose catfish, 1 dwarf gurami.
If they are intending to breed should I remove them to my 2 foot tank so soon after they just settled in or let nature take it's course and put this one down to experience, and a bit of pot luck ???

Michelle

brewmaster15
12-14-2003, 09:02 AM
Hi Michelle,
I would say let them Breed in that tank for now.. It will help strengthen any bonds they have. They will probably not have fry long in that tank , but after they have spawned once or twice you can move them.. or You could just move them now since you bought them as a pair,. Its personal Choice.. As they get ready to spawn may get real aggressive to the rest of the tank occupants.