PDA

View Full Version : Setting up new discus tank

M0oN
12-16-2003, 12:38 AM
I'm fairly new to the world of discus, been keeping 3 turqoise emperor's for a good 4 months now in a community tank and I love them so much that I've decided to go out and buy a new 125 gallon for a pure discus tank.

I'm looking to recreate the natural surroundings in which discus live, but don't have a clue as to where to start and cannot find much information on the internet to help me.

Any information would be appreciated, from the ground up. Looking for help with substrate (I would like black sand). Plant species, other "cleaner" or dither fish to add to the tank without disturbing breeding habits, lighting requirements, excellent filtration, water additives that help without hurting etc.

Any refrences to books or websites would be appreciated, I've currently got Degen Book Of Discus and Hobbyists Guide To The Natural Aquarium on the way, but nothing beats experience and feedback from people who have been there.

Thanks a bunch!

Ryan
12-16-2003, 12:46 AM
A good place to start would be the Show Tanks & Biotopes section of our board. There are many great posts there about setting up a natural looking biotope aquarium for your fish. You can access that section of the board here:

http://forum.simplydiscus.com//index.php?board=7

Ryan

M0oN
12-16-2003, 12:51 AM
I realize that as well, I'd just like to get as much input as possible before making such a large investment :)

Kap
12-16-2003, 11:17 PM
MOon,