PDA

View Full Version : I am a newbie, Disapointment

Kigo
01-17-2004, 09:17 PM
Hello,

I skimmed some messages and it looks like my problem may not be unique, which I think is a good thing.

First of all some history. I bought 15 discus one year ago putting them at about 1.5 years of age. They have grown up beautifully and I have been waiting for pairs to form so that I can move them to a breeding 50 gallon tank. I was starting to give up hope when today I noticed that two fish that have been kind of hanging around each other started pecking at the filter intake tube. I got very excited when I noticed one of the tubes was sticking out further than usual. I thought that I should sit and watch for awhile and to my amazement the one with the tube started running up the filter intake and deposited a long line of eggs. I excitedly watched as teh other fish was about to follow, but to my horror it just looked at each egg as it gobbled it up. THis continued run after run. All of the other fish are in close proximatey as the two continued.

What should I do? SHould I move the pair to there own tank assuming it is inexperience and too many spectators? Should I wait to see if they get the hang of it and make sure that the eggs get fertilized before moving the adults to ensure they truely are a pair? Should I remove the egg eater not caring whether or not it is a male or female and hope the egg layer finds another partner? Should I give up and start trying to breed guppies because I am out of my league?

Any comments and ideas would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Robert

Carol_Roberts
01-17-2004, 11:41 PM
Hi Robert: