PDA

View Full Version : Fishless cycling

Milleruszk
02-29-2004, 02:26 PM
Hi all,

I am just getting started in setting up a Discus tank. I filled up a 75 gallon yesterday with tap water. My PH out of the tap is about 7.4-7.6.
I am going to try to cycle the tank without fish using ammonia. I do not have another tank setup that I can use to innoculate this this tank with bacteria. Is there any common household thing I can use to get the "good" bacteria I need? I do not have access to another tank. I hope to have this tank cycled within 2-3 weeks so I can go on a Discus buying spree! LOL. Thanks for the help.

Tom

beebubbug
02-29-2004, 05:47 PM
TRY SOME BIO-SPIRA YOU CAN FIND AT LFS ,I USED IT BEFORE AND HAD GOOD LUCK WITH IT IT CAN CYCLE A TANK IN 24 HRS.MAKE SURE YOUR WALLET IS HEAVY ITS NOT CHEAP!GOOD LUCK

Carol_Roberts
02-29-2004, 07:39 PM
The "good" bacteria is floating in the air. A plant from a fish store may speed the process - make sure it doesn't come with snails or other hitchhikers.

Don't be disappointed if it takes 4 - 6 weeks to cycle your tank - that's how long it takes with dither fish too.

ronrca
03-01-2004, 10:58 AM
While there may be various methods of 'seeding' a new tank with bacteria, the various methods do vary in 'bacteria count' and choosing the one with the best or highest count will ensure a speedier cycle. While plants, gravel and decor from existing tanks do aid in bacteria growth, the best method of seeding is using established media or as previously mentioned, biospira. You may be able to borrow/buy as Carol mentioned plants, decor, gravel and filter media from your lfs in their existing tanks. While this may speed up the cycling process, you must be aware of the protential of introducing potential disease. Imo, the best is allowing the tank to cycling without adding from an existing tank or using biospira.

HTH ;)

Tom Fowler
03-02-2004, 04:29 AM