PDA

View Full Version : Metro as a preventative?

tag
03-02-2004, 06:41 PM
Is it ok to dose the fish with Hexamit as a matter of routine? I know that medicating the fish without an obvious reason is not a good plan but I've been suspecting either hex or flukes and wondered if I could medicate the tank...all the discus without harming any of them if in deed it wasn't necessary.

Sorry...I'm a real newbie to this routine care and medication stuff. Need a hand :)

Thanks

Tina

M0oN
03-02-2004, 06:59 PM
I wouldn't recommend it except for proactive treatment of newly aquired fish.

It's not cheap, either...you have to dose about double what each hexamit capsule is because of tolerance to the medication these days...

Just don't feed live foods and you don't have to worry about hex :)

jules
03-02-2004, 08:20 PM
Metro is an antibiotic and shouldn't be used unless necessary IMO.
I don't feed live foods and unfortunately I have a "patient" in treatment right now for Hex.

Check out this link:
http://forum.simplydiscus.com//index.php?board=10;action=display;threadid=1058

fcdiscus
03-02-2004, 09:12 PM
I have had fish that never touched live food in their lives, and they came down with hex. I believe -as do alot of others- that the hex lies fairly dormant, and it is brought on by stress.
I agree however, that Hexamit or metro should not be used inadvertently, but if you suspect a problwem- post it and someone will surely help you. Frank

discus_nw
03-03-2004, 01:38 AM
I am not for prophylactically treating with any antibiotic, including metro. Many discus carry the bug in their gut, and are perfectly able to tolerate them in small numbers. When the discus has become compromised in any of a variety of circumstances, the flagellate multiplies unchallenged resulting in a diseased condition. Then, medication is required. In the meantime, treat them prophylactically with good care. :)

Carol_Roberts
03-03-2004, 02:07 AM