PDA

View Full Version : new to discus

ccnroth817
03-08-2004, 04:31 PM
Hello all,

I am very new to discus, that is, this is the first time I have attempted to try a discus tank. I have, had african cichlids and various other community tanks, but when I saw discus for the first time I fell in love with them. I couldn't ever bring myself to buy them due to the horror stories I had heard about them, but after talking to a local discus keeper I decided to give it a shot. This was the site recommended to me by her, so I have a few question to ask of everyone.

First of all, my local fish store recommended using some sort of acid to lower my ph and the level required for discus. I was wondering if anyone here has tried this method. It sounds like something I would be willing to try if it was safe to do and if it kept my tank at a constant ph. Our local water has a 8.2 ph and I have used a product called, Proper ph 6.5,made by Aquarium Pharmaceuticals Inc., to bring my ph down to about 6.6 to 6.8. I know that discus coud live at this ph level, but my water likes to jump up in ph ranges, from 6.6 to 7.0 when this product is used. Are there any other products you would recommend for me?

Okay, here's my last question for now. I would like to add some plants to my tank aslo, to aid in the water cleanliness. I havn't really tried to grow plants to much, but did have some success with the few I have tried. Anyway, is there any recomendations as far as plant life? How much is too much? Does this interfere with cleaning? Do the didcus actually benifit from a planted aquarium? Basically, any infromation yau have on a discus planted tank would be helpful.

Thank all of your time,

Nick

03-08-2004, 04:42 PM