PDA

View Full Version : F1, F2, F3 Help

Smooth
03-22-2004, 06:54 PM
I know that F1, F2, F3 means first, second and third generation of fish respectively, but what I don't know is what this means to the fish.

Is a F1 fish going to have stronger genes than a F3 fish? On a PB is it going to have more pepper, or less pepper? Does it even matter?? Stronger or weaker striations or colour?

Would you not buy a fish because it is F3 or F1??

I hope some of the experts can help me and clarify this!!!

Thank you!

nimbusv
03-22-2004, 07:18 PM
I am no expert, but i think it will all depend if it crosses with wilds or with farm raised varieties, personally i don't find all that appealing wild caught fish, even though i have an WC Oscar.

Evidently selective breeding will let us have more colorfull and resistance fish. an F4, for instance, after raised in different conditions that the wild ones for several generations, will be more resistant to some trace elements in the woter, that's adaptation working.

Smooth
03-23-2004, 04:09 PM
So are you saying the further down it goes the hardier it is going to be?? I'm more worried about the colour the shape and the striations.

Any "experts" willing to give me some information?

M0oN
03-23-2004, 04:19 PM
I'm pretty sure it's just to give people an idea of how long they've been tank raised, usually wild caught fish have better parental instincts...

Dkarc@Aol.com
03-23-2004, 05:02 PM