PDA

View Full Version : Grow out water

mizzoumed02
04-02-2004, 04:52 AM
Ok, I am new to the discus hobby, and I have been reading all the post on the sight to learn as much as I can. One question that I still have and I think Carol will have the answer is... Will it hurt if I use my RO water in my grow out tanks?? Will it stunt their growth ?? Just need a little advise... ???

RyanH
04-02-2004, 09:35 AM
Although I'm not Carol I will pipe up...

I would just use straight tap (aged, heated, and dechlorinated ofcourse) in your growout tanks. It'll save wear and tear on your RO unit, you don't have to worry about pH crashes, and some say that Discus grow better in hard, mineral-rich water. :)

hth

DiscusFevaa
04-02-2004, 12:11 PM
I know your supposed to use just plain aged tap water on juvies but are you supposed to switch to RO water when they become adults, RO is used for breeding purposes?

Carol_Roberts
04-02-2004, 12:51 PM
RO water is demineralized and used when your water is too hard for eggs to hatch. I use an RO mix for breeders only. Juveniles do fine in hard water. Mine are in GH 12

mizzoumed02
04-02-2004, 02:40 PM
thanks for the advise, I use RODI for my angels and have some Juv discus in it now, but after reading some of the thred on here, I was just woundering, so I guess It will be safe to switch them over to the hard water. One other question, do you need to age well water?? Mine out of the tap is Ph 7.9, KH 180, GH 300......???

Larry Grenier
04-02-2004, 03:13 PM
mizzoumed02,

you can answer you own question. Take a glass of water right out of the tap and measure it's pH. THen place an airstone on an airpump it it and measure tomorrow. If there is a big gap in the readings then you need to age (de-gass) your tap water, if not, you're lucky 8)

Carol_Roberts
04-02-2004, 03:35 PM