PDA

View Full Version : Anyone ever start a fish store

captainandy
04-06-2004, 07:58 PM
Anyone out there ever start a tropical fish retail business? After over 20 years as a very busy surgeon I decided to get an MBA and switch careers. My wife and kids think that I should start a tropical fish store and forget the MBA. Told me that I may as well enjoy what I do.what do ya think.

henryD
04-06-2004, 08:40 PM
Andy,

When you stop by and visit, I will take you to 4 of the local fish store that have been sucessful. You will notice very quickly why they are that way. I been into fish all of my life so know most of the places within a 200 mile radius. There really is a common theme to the ones that survive for 10 years or more. Unfortunately those are not the ones selling discus. In fact only 1 out of 4 have a discus selection at all. To say the very least I think you should expect to work long long hours and not expect to get a big reward financially. Now that is not to say it can't be done. But don't expect to have more free time than a surgeon's life.

Henry

captainandy
04-07-2004, 06:34 AM
Well, what are some of the things we look for in a fish store? To me, I look at the cleanliness of the tanks, the health of the fish, good service and knowledge. Once I walk into a store and see unkempt tanks or more than a few dead fish, I rarely go back in.

FischAutoTechGarten
04-07-2004, 09:16 AM
Take a look at a related thread I started:

http://forum.simplydiscus.com//index.php?board=9;action=display;threadid=15407

Very quickly I decided against the fish store. I also withdrew my offer for the B & B as the process had stalled for too long. In the end, I pursued an Aquascaping and Landscaping business. Here's that thread:

http://forum.simplydiscus.com//index.php?board=9;action=display;threadid=17736

DarkDiscus
04-07-2004, 11:50 AM