PDA

View Full Version : Genetics

Lottie
04-30-2004, 11:40 AM
I'm not sure that this post is in the right section, if not, my apologies. But here goes, I am wanting to learn more about the gentics of the Discus and I'm not sure where to find this information. I am also interested in the pattern classifications, etc. I am a newbie and I would really like not to make expensive mistakes when I purchase fish that I would like to possibly cross in the future. I am also interested in asking Carol about the photo that she has posted to her message board, what color phase is that? It is beautiful!!
Thanks ever so much,
Lottie

Carol_Roberts
04-30-2004, 11:54 AM
He is a pigeonblood with very littler pepper (black specks like freckles). Here is an adult picture of him. Not a lot is know about discus genetics.

Go here to look at names of discus colors http://tropical-fish.net/Cichlids/Discus_Strains.htm

Lottie
04-30-2004, 03:12 PM
Oh, he's a real looker!! I can only hope to get a few like him. Where did you get your stock from, it seems very hard to find em without peppering on them. It is one of the reasons I have been waiting, I want my fish to look just a certain way. I figure it costs just as much to feed a bad one as it does a good one. So, I'm waiting till I find the right person to purchase from.
Thanks again,
Lottie

Carol_Roberts
04-30-2004, 06:09 PM
This guy is several years old and from Ray Kosaka (Discus Hawaii) who is out of the business now.

There are many of the newer pigeon/golden crosses with little pepper. Check with some of the folks who have banners on this site. Jeff and Cary can both get nice goldens for you.

hexed
05-04-2004, 02:09 AM
Lottie,
I love Carol's discus above as well ;D