PDA

View Full Version : Water changes from tap

brandy
05-27-2004, 01:23 PM
I've been keeping discus for about 3 months - so far everyone is healthy and happy. I have been doing water changes from the tap without any problems (usually 30-50% every other day depending on tank size). My water comes from the tap with a pH of 8.4, then drops to 7.8 if I age it. As I said, it doesn't bother my fish to use the 8.4 tap water, but is this harmful to them? When I did a water change last night the pH rose by .4 with a 40% water change. I've done emergency water changes of up to 75% with tap water as well, with no ill effects. What do you think? Do I need to start aging water or can I continue to use it straight from the tap?

RyanH
05-27-2004, 01:28 PM
A drop in pH will cause stress on your fish. I would definately start to age it. The affects on your fish may not be apparent in the short run but can result in them becoming weaker and more disease prone in the long run. Remember, the pH scale is logarythmic like earthquake scales. That is, for every 1/10 of a point drop in pH, you have water that is many, many times more acidic.

hth!

brandy
05-27-2004, 01:38 PM
My pH actually rises when I do water changes, then lowers very slowly over a period of about 48 hours. I would like to be able to age my water, but I'm not sure yet if I can find the space.

Rick_May
05-27-2004, 01:53 PM
well, if it's not broken don't fix it.

ronrca
05-27-2004, 02:35 PM
I agree with Steve! Over the long term, your discus will start to feel the effects of it and become sick. Sickness comes from various factors, one being stress. We to someone who is stressed, in dis-stress which is due to not being at ease or also called dis-ease. This leads to disease. Over time, it will wear on the discus like lack of sleep. Aging your water will only much things easier over the long run.