PDA

View Full Version : Camera experts please...

jeep
06-01-2004, 07:50 PM
I'm looking at buying a Nikon 5700. Does anyone know if there would be a huge benefit to spending a couple hundred more $$ and getting a low-end digital SLR?

I like the 5700 because of the ability to add lenses, although limited in selection. Of course the SLR's are more versatile with the lenses, but I do have a nice regular Canon SLR with a variety of lenses.

???

xen
06-01-2004, 08:07 PM
Heya Jeep,

I don't know the 5700 specifically, but if the price difference isn't too great, I'd probably look at a low-end SLR.

As you say, your lens options are almost limitless with an SLR. And you'll even be able to use all your old SLR lenses with it :-)

Go on.. you know you want to ;D

Cheers!
John

Ramon Anastacio
06-01-2004, 09:51 PM
Jeep,
I owned a Nikon Coolpix 4300, then I decided to get the Canon EOS 300D/Digital Rebel. I'm not a camera expert but I thought the quality of my photos improved markedly, primarily because I was able to use a good lens with it (Canon 24-70/2.8L). It is the current low end Digi SLR from Canon and I think it's worth the investment.

I have pictures here from when I first got it.
http://forum.simplydiscus.com//index.php?board=11;action=display;threadid=15058

Ramon

xen
06-02-2004, 02:07 AM
Heya Jeep,

This might be some more DRebel motivation for you ;D

Check out this: http://www.bahneman.com/liem/photos/tricks/digital-rebel-tricks.html. It was on http://www.slashdot.org/ today.

Apparently some Russian hacker has altered the D10 firmware so you can apply it to your 300D. This definitely voids your warranty, but apparently it works. It will add a lot of the D10s functions to your 300D without you having to pay US$500 for them.

Man I love the internet ;D

Cheers!
John

jeep
06-02-2004, 07:32 AM
Thanks guys.

Ramon, those are some very nice photo's.

I think I have to go back to camera school to figure this digital stuff out, LOL...

brewmaster15