PDA

View Full Version : Leopard Discuss question

suki243
06-10-2004, 01:40 AM
My father and i were interested in buying some leopard Discuss, we went to a Pet Emporium and the guy said that the fish he was selling was a leopard discuss, it was a discuss but it looks like a snake skin type of discuss its got a blueish bod and this red lines, we asked him aren't leopards suppose to have spots and he said the spots will come later as the discuss grows older, the lines will become spots, is that true or not.

SantaFeDiscus
06-10-2004, 02:23 AM
Suki243-
I am no expert but I would say that wether the fish has spots or striations depends on the breeder and what name he gives his fish. I have some Green Leopards from Macsdiscus.com and they are vary nice looking fish but they are not spotted they are striated. If you go to discusfarm.com he has some nice looking spotted golden leopards. So I would say it depends on the breeder and what they name their fish and that if they don't have spots now (assuming their 3" or bigger) their not going to. They won't change from lines to spots. But they will become more vibrant in color and any light markings on them will come out even more as they grow, like spots or striations. I will try to post a pic of my GL.
Fred

SantaFeDiscus
06-10-2004, 02:24 AM
another

SantaFeDiscus
06-10-2004, 02:24 AM
another

SantaFeDiscus
06-10-2004, 02:25 AM
yet another

SantaFeDiscus
06-10-2004, 02:25 AM
last one

jared
06-10-2004, 03:19 AM
Typically, lines do not turn into spots. Quite the opposite. Usually pattern changes in spotted strains are such that spots form and then merge into lines in places leaving spotted portions on a striated fish. JMO

Carol_Roberts
06-10-2004, 11:54 AM
Jared is correct. Spots grow together to form striations. I bet the pet store is selling red turks

paletka
07-20-2004, 12:43 PM
If fish have spots at age of 6 month's, most of the time spot's will be on adult