PDA

View Full Version : A beginnner needs help......

tlum
10-09-2004, 12:33 PM
I am new to discus and is now building a rake to hold 2 55g and 3 29g tanks. The rake will be finished this weekend. Before I buy any fish, I want to make sure my water parameter is OK. I know that many people had asked similar questions. However, I will feel much better if I can get answers specific to my water parameters. Here are my tap water parameters:

ph fresh out of tap: 7.4
ph after aging for a day: 8.2
GH: 267 ppm
KH: 231.4ppm
Chlorine is added to my tap water by the city.

From what I have learned from the forum:
1. I need to remove chlorine from my water using chemical
2. I need to age and heat my water for a day or more to keep a stable ph for water change. A drip system directly from the tap (after removing chlorine from the water by carbon filter) will not work in my situation.
4. My current water parameters are OK for growing discus. However, breeding is another issue.
3. What I learn from RandelB is that I need a RO for breeding and raising fly.

My setup:

For 55g BB tanks: one spongy fileter with power head, one 250W heater, one biowheel 330 power filter.

For 29g BB tanks (use for water storage now and hopefully for breeding in the future): a 250W heater and a spongy filty with air pump or power head.

Other questions:
How many jevenile fish can I put into a 55g?

My plan:

I am interested in solid colors: Red (Red Melon or Mandarine Passion), yellow/gold, and blue (BD, Blue Knight, etc). I plan to buy 6-10 juvenile fish for each color (graduately buildup my stock overtime). And hopefull, have 2 pairs for each color for breeding a couple of years from now.

Quesitions:
Any suggestions on the best red color strain? MR, RM, MP or other strain that I missed?
Any suggestions on the best blue color strain? BD, BN, violet reflection or other strains that I missed?
Any suggestion on the best yellow/gold color?