PDA

View Full Version : newcomer to discus keeping

dna_errors
10-11-2004, 10:58 PM
Greeting all,

I am new to discus keeping, and I am in the process of setting up a Discus aquarium.
I have a 55 G tank which will be planted (with CO2 system). I have 7 sterbai cory that are going to go into the 55 G.

I understand that if I want to buy Discus, I should buy them in a group of 5-6. However, 6 discus plus 7 sterbai cory (most of them are pretty small and I do believe they stay under 3 inches) sounds like pushing the stocking limit.

I have a Fluval 404, Aquaclear 200 for this tank and UV installed. So I do think the filteration is adequent. I set up a sump by using a 10 G tank, hoping the extra water will help keep water condition stable.

Can anyone offer me any suggestion? Should I get 4 discus to prevent overstocking, or go with 6 discus and work hard to keep the tank clean with water change? I love my sterbai and I won't/can't give them up. (they are currently in a 20 G along with 20 cardinals, I know I have a bad habit of overstocking but I work very hard to keep aquarium clean and in good condition). What do you think the condition of the tank will be in both scenarios?

Thanks in advance.

RyanH
10-11-2004, 11:13 PM
Welcome to Simply!

Questions:

Are you planning on starting with adults or Juveniles?

What are your goals? That is, are you interested in breeding or just keeping them? If you are getting juveniles, how large do you want to grow them out?

What are your water parameters?

dna_errors
10-11-2004, 11:23 PM
I just want to keep the discus for show. Although I have maintain aquarium (fresh and marine) for almost 8 years I have never breed any fish. It has always sounded difficult to me and I am not sure discus is a good starting point. I guess I just want to keep the fish and make sure they are happy. I don't particularly expect them to grow to certain size or have babies.

I plan to get juveniles around 2.5 inch I think.