PDA

View Full Version : Am I ready for Discus?

Dawna
10-23-2004, 01:41 PM
Hello everyone. I am new to Simply Discus and for the last month have been reading alot of the forums, I now have deleted all other forums and have joined this one, You are exactly what I am looking for.
Now are you ready for this? I have a 50 gal. tank, Little bit of rock (barely covering bottom), 3 pieces of african driftwood. 2 fake plant's (hate snail's). My system is a fluval 304, In it I have ammonia remover, bio max,only half the carbon . Is this correct? Should I put peat in the other half of the carbon? I have had the tank running for 7 weeks now and I am 98% sure I have gone through the cycle. Have gone through the high ammonia, Not to high though, after that really high nitrites, Did water changes and all that fun stuff. Yesterday every thing was normal but my ph was a little high. nitrite 0.1, ammonia 0, ph 7.8 or is that fine? I just did a 75% water change this morn. I think I covered everything if not ask away. So am I ready for these wonderful fishes? Please say yes ;D. If not what can I do now. Also are three juvies good for my size tank? Sorry if I seem to be a pain but I have been wanting discus for so long and I want to do it right. Any insight would be great. Thank-you
Dawna

KD
10-23-2004, 03:22 PM
Hi Dawna,