PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here, wanted to say "Hi"

Makingwaves
11-22-2004, 01:54 PM
This is the second time around - this better work.. LOL

Decided to take the plunge and went for it. Bought my first discus 2 weeks ago. Went with a breeding pair of adults (one red tourq. and a cobalt blue).
Tankmates include some neon and glowlight tetras, rasporas, 3 chinese AE's, and some cory cats (albino and emerald green).

Home for them is a 55 gal. corner tank, gravel base, all fake plants, fake driftwood, filtration is a UGF with a 402 powerhead, Rena Canister XP2 to be updated to a XP3. Temp is at 85, Nitrites and Ammonia are at 0, my PH is a lil high at 7.5. I'm doing water changes every other day and are about 25%.

A couple of questions. Been reading about carbon use, one of the packs included with the XP canisters is the Bio-Chem with contains carbon - can I still use this?

With the high PH, (I'd like it around 7.0) I was going to put the peat pellets in the filter, good/bad/indifferent? Will the bio-chem pack negate the effect of the peat. Tetra also makes a blackwater additive, I like the effect it gives to the water, but only lasts a couple of days, is the bio-chem effecting this?

Also - the discus will only eat live blood worms. I don't mind feeding them this (the LPS isn't that far away) - did try doing a 50/50 mix with frozen, seems they ate the live, after that wouldn't touch it.

I'm also considering getting 2 more smaller Discus in the very near future if things continue to go well. Opinions?

Any suggestions, or things I should look out for? Been lurking, but it appears to be a wonderful place here.

TIA,
Keith

Mike_T
11-22-2004, 03:31 PM