PDA

View Full Version : dying neon fish

pikashy
11-23-2004, 08:27 PM
I cycled my tank with ammonia and added 12 neon tetras. 5 of them have died already. The ones that are about to die swim off away from the school and when I come home, they become pale and are either floating or on the bottom of the tank.

My tank is housing discus with no problems and everything, nitrite, ammonia, nitrate is 0. The only reason I can think of is a too high water temperature. I'm keeping the temperature around 83.

Carol_Roberts
11-23-2004, 08:37 PM
Sorry - I don't know much about neons . . .

Rhinoboy38
11-23-2004, 09:26 PM
all try and help but im new at the discus. i have 8 neons in my tank. none have died. even with the ammonia spike after getting the discus. now how big are the neons and how big are the discus. they could be getting attacked and killed that way. Al (brewmaster) told me that the discus could get ahold of them. another thing is what are the other water parameters? the PH, hardness. whats the parameters from the tap?(remember to age the water day or so) what do you do to the water during water changes? when do you do water changes? is it planted? what kinda plants do you use? what do you feed them?

RedestWing
11-23-2004, 09:37 PM
I have gone through MANY Neons myself, just to have my Discus Rip them to shreds. For the longest time I never knew why they were all dead. Then I seen that early in the morning or soon as the lights wen't out they started stalking the school of Neons. For some odd reason though they will leave Cardinals alone!

Howie_W
11-23-2004, 09:44 PM
My tank is housing discus with no problems and everything, nitrite, ammonia, nitrate is 0. The only reason I can think of is a too high water temperature. I'm keeping the temperature around 83.

Hi pikashy,