PDA

View Full Version : first discus!

wolfbane
12-05-2004, 12:23 AM
Hi, I'm new to Simply, love this site, most informative, sometimes humorous, always good. I decided a few years ago that I wanted discus, so began reading up on them. Sure are alot of opinions on what is proper discus culture.

I have juvies in a 29 gal bare bottom tank, power filter with a prefilter sponge, aireation, feeding beefheart mix. Thanks to Gulf Coast Discus, I'm off to a great start. My husband thinks I'm a little nuts, I love to watch them eat, and I talk to them whenever I pass the aquarium. Can't wait for them to grow and show their colors! Can't wait to move them up to the 55 gal tank!

I have kept community tanks, and have had South American cichlids for the last 2 years, all working up to these beauties. I'm so happy with them, oh gee, am I rambling again? :D

Love the pictures of everyones tanks and fish, wish I had a digital camera. Oh well, maybe for Christmas.

Happy fishkeeping!

Terrybo
12-05-2004, 01:01 AM
What strain/color discus did you get?

Terry

RyanH
12-05-2004, 01:03 AM
Welcome to Simply! :)

It sounds like you are off to a great start. Keep us posted on your progress and feel free to post whenever you have questions. :) :) :)

-Ryan

Howie_W
12-05-2004, 01:05 AM
Hi wolfbane...welcome to Simply!

Congratulations on your new fish!...Dan has some gorgeous looking Discus...please let us know what strains you picked up, inquiring minds want to know!!!! :D

Yes...you definitely need to get a camera and take some pictures for us. Don'y hesitate to ask if you ever have any questions!

Good luck!

Howie

BTW...of course your husband is right...we're all a little nuts! ;)

Eddie
12-05-2004, 03:41 AM
another addict! :D Aren't we all!!!

Ardan
12-05-2004, 08:11 AM
Hi and welcome!

Yes we want pics! :D :D :D
Dan has some real nice discus, I am sure you will have many hours of enjoyment and "work" with them :D

have fun
Ardan

GulfCoastDiscus
12-05-2004, 12:10 PM
Penny?:)