PDA

View Full Version : Algea Problem

peteypob
12-05-2004, 03:40 AM
Hi everyone,

I am not a pro at taking pictures nor can I afford a digital camera right now, so I resorted to my phone! I tried to take some pictures of the different algea growing on my plants.PROBLEM 1: On the chain swords its on the leaves and every since I have put them in the tank they started thining out. By this I mean a few leaves turn brown then slowly fall off. A few manage to survive but they are not too bushes and dont see any new growth. Although they have sent out runners.
PROBLEM 2: On my java laces I am in a constant battle with the brown brush algea and some thick green algea on some leaves( mainly those closest to the light). I siphon it of verry easily.

I have a 55gal, Co2 injection, eco-complete gravel, Coral life freshwater light 130wtts(2-65wtts compact bulbs)6700.
I add fourish & flourish iron every water change, also Pottassium from greg watson
Water changes have been bumped up to every other day @ 50%

Water parameters: pH 7.3-7.5, nitrate 0, nitrite 0, ammonia 0, havent checked my kh yet.

Thanks for the help!!!

Pete

peteypob
12-05-2004, 03:41 AM
chain swords

peteypob
12-05-2004, 03:42 AM
SO SORRY THESE PIC ARE REALLY SMALL!cant figure out how to make them bigger.

Howie_W
12-05-2004, 12:36 PM
Hi Pete,

With a healthy substrate, I don't think it's necessary to be adding that much flourish to your water column...you're actually encouraging algae growth.

I've always kept a mix of ancistrus and otocinclus in my planted tanks, and as a result never have a problem with algae.

HTH

Howie

peteypob
12-05-2004, 03:17 PM
Hi Howie,

Advice taken! Ill put a stop to the flourish and see what happens. Thnaks!
Pete

Rhinoboy38
12-05-2004, 03:44 PM