PDA

View Full Version : De-chloring water

wolfbane
01-10-2005, 11:33 AM
Hi, since I'm new to Discus, it seems I have sooooo many questions. I am doing the "bucket brigade" thing currently, growing out 13 Juvies. The tank location is good for draining (siphon house out the back door) but not so good for filling, but my hubby wants to know why I don't just put the de-chlor in the tank and fill with warm water from the tap? He says it would be the same difference, easier on the back. I told him to get his own fish and try it first, then we would talk!! :argue: Actually I don't know much about how the de-chlor products work, but don't want my fish breathing chlorine or chloranamine for half a minute while the stuff works. :( Am I being overly cautious?

walk23
01-10-2005, 01:14 PM
Best to de-chlorinate overnight (24 hrs) with air. If impractical have you tried Prime ? Works well too. Major thing is ph/ temp. stable water.

wolfbane
01-10-2005, 01:33 PM
Been using Stress Coat to get the chlorine and chloranamine out, The City of Houston water authority sees fit to change things without telling the public, some days the water smells like swimming pool water. :mad: One day, I lost a entire community tank in 30 minutes after a change with aged, aeriated water, the chloranamines they added didn't break down. :( The water dept. told me that you must use a product that will break the chloranamine bond. Thanks for the reply.

walk23
01-10-2005, 03:13 PM
Do you have a storage holding tank for aging water ?

Anonapersona
01-10-2005, 05:01 PM
I didn't realize the City of Houston uses chloramine.... I'm outside the city (for now, until annexation begins again). If it is chloramine, then aging will do you no good. You will need some sort of treatment. If it is only chlorine, then aging will be sufficient, with good agitation you should be able to use it in 24 hours or less. Best to get some chlorine test strips to be certain.