PDA

View Full Version : intestinal parasite, which treatment?

steelheaderdu
02-13-2005, 04:49 PM
Hye guys,

I have been keeping discus off and on for over 10 years, and this is the first "worm" I've ever seen in my tanks. I think it's some type of tapeworm, but you experts may know better. The fish seems fine and is actively swimming with all the others. Out of the 10 fish in the tank, he's the only one I've seen with this affliction. Also, you can see in the background of one picture that the fecal matter is very dark (healthy from what I've always understood). Here are a couple pics for you to diagnose. If you can, please identify the problem and a type of medication or remedy. I do a 50% water change in all my tanks daily. Fish are fed flakes, beefheart, bloodworms, and brineshrimp. Thanks for any help. It's much appreciated.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v395/steelheaderdu/sickdiscus002.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v395/steelheaderdu/sickdiscus004.jpg

John

Eddie
02-13-2005, 05:02 PM
I have the same thing going on with my fish also. I'm using Prazi Pro. The fish have been dropping worms steadily for 3 days. Try some Prazi Pro ;)

ShinShin
02-13-2005, 05:57 PM
I would recommend prazi as a treatment. Looks like a tapeworm. Tapeworms are easy to treat. Tapeworms only rob the fish of nutrition and are found in otherwise healthy fish. Fish inflicted with tapeworms do not grow well inspite of eating well.

steelheaderdu
02-15-2005, 06:04 PM
thanks guys,

I'll go get some prazi.

John

Alight
02-16-2005, 06:39 PM
Definitely tape worms. I just went through that ugly bout with my fish. Although you have only observed one, you will be amazed at what will come out of the fish when you treat with Prazi! I got Prazi Pro from Jehmco, but it won't be enough for the three treatments in a planted tank, so I got Prazi Pond from http://www.pondpetsusa.com/medications/prazi_pond.html .