PDA

View Full Version : What's wrong with my discuss???

joscadi
02-19-2005, 01:54 AM
I am new to the discus hobby and I'm afraid I did not start out in the best of circumsatnces. About a week or so ago, I bought a discus from the LFS. Two days later, I bought two more. I made the mistake of placing them all in the community tank with 5 of my clown loaches and about 20 1" neon tetras. Prior to getting the last two, I did a thorough cleaning of my 60 gal. tank. I change 70% of the water, and vacummed the substrate. I added plants (mainly swords and one other plant with really long leaves).

It's been one week and the fish are not eating. I have been putting a combination of tetramin crisps and tetraminn color bits. Tomorrow, I will buy some live bloodworms so hopefully they will eat that.

The real problem happened today while I was doing the water change. Prior to the water change, all of them were swimmingly nicely. After I did tne 25% water change, one of them was swimming in a funny way. It kept smashing into things i.e. wall of the aquarium, rocks, etc. Then it will slowly sink to the gravel and its body would almost be paralell to the substrate. It would just lay flat. Once in a while it would swim to another place in the aqaurium, but it would remain flat on the substrate. Sometimes, it woul use the walls of the aquarium to prop its body up.

What's wrong with my discuss?

FYI - my tank is 6o gals. and has a cannister filter. Some of the inhabitants are 5 clown loaches, about 4" each, and 20 neon tetras that are about 1" each. The temp is at 84. Everything else is at 0 ppm.

I am afraid that this one is not going to last through the night. The other two seems fine and are swimming around the tank.

Carol_Roberts
02-19-2005, 02:30 AM