PDA

View Full Version : I´m newbie

tarantula
02-24-2005, 09:47 PM
I have some experience keeping fish, actually I keep a m'buna 55 gallons tank and 55gallons goldfish tank.

I'm thinking keep a discus 75gallons tank, and my tap water is gh 17dgh, kh 8dkh and ph 7.5-8, the question is, with this water is possible keep discus?
I know this water is not good, but I read in some internet pages "discus can live in a hard water" even some people keep them in alkaline ph.
I know RO water is better for discus but I don't have a RO filter.

Another question all products like sera morena, sera ph minus etc. are a good option?

Thanks
Dr. Carlos Elizondo

jeep
02-24-2005, 09:55 PM
I'm not sure about the GH as I use a TDS meter to measure my water. I do know that discus can thrive in most water conditions as long as you age your water to stabilize the ph.

What is your ph after a day of aging???

Pure RO water is not the way to go because RO removes vital minerals and elements fish need to survive. Maybe reconstituted RO water would be your best option. If interested, RandalB from this board is a great option to purchase an RO unit...

funkyfish
02-24-2005, 10:07 PM
welcome to simply
my water is harder than ur's 20dgh ph 8.1 i ahve 14 discsus from baby's to 5 inch's in size they are all healthy they will even eat from my hand
good luck

ps with hard water the additive's don't work to well the ph will go up and down with that stuff it's better to have a stable ph than a rollercoaster
they don't lik rollercoaster's

Howie_W
02-25-2005, 01:07 AM
Hi Dr. Elizondo and welcome to Simply! :)