PDA

View Full Version : Stendker vs. Asian

HTown Discus
02-25-2005, 05:44 PM
I'm sure that you guys have had this discussion several times already, but I'm a newbie... please bare with me.

Given a choice between Stendker and Asian bred fish, who do you choose? I'm sure they both have their pro's and con's, but which breed is of better quality in your opinion?

brewmaster15
02-25-2005, 06:05 PM
Hi,
Before you look at that question you need to first understand that "Stendker" isn't a type of Discus Fish...its the name of a larger Breeder that specializes in what many would call "classic Discus" These are your Red Turq, cobalts, and some Pbs.. These are the older strains.... That many european breeders and Pioneers perfected. They Tend to have a stout , thick body and shorter Dorsal and anal fins then their contempory Asian cousins. Some people like this appearence. I find the Cobalts well suited to it.
The " Asian " Discus are often more shapely, taller fins and a very rounded forehead. The Breeders of these fish have spent years perfecting this look and have introduced a multitude of color variations to the hobby.

So to answer Your question..The difference between "classic" Discus and the "Asian" breeds is really a matter of taste. If you want more info on These older lines of fish , Talk to Jack Taylor (Im ..Discus_KC here), he has been Breeding fish from Stendker's hatchery stock, as has Mary Subes (IM fshngal here)..

Hope that helps,
al

ps This is just my opinion.

CARY_GLdiscus
02-25-2005, 06:05 PM
Benny,
Am sorry but You cannot ask this right on the board it would be best if You ask people to email you.

However I would say being that Your new You might want to go with hans and stenker discus I think they will help you get Your feet wet untill you decide you need to move on or not!

I just think with Han's being here in the USA you might get a better shake!