PDA

View Full Version : Getting my very first DISCUS!.....a few ?s

Audrey
02-28-2005, 02:14 PM
Hi, all!
I am new to discus, but not new to fish keeping.
I have kept and raised angelfish for about 3 years, but am not breeding them anymore. Want to try my real passion....discus.

I have an order placed with a good breeder. My small babies should be coming in a little over two weeks!

My plan is to put them in a 10-gal tank, I heard they will feel safer in a small tank. I am getting 8 of them, about 1" size. I plan to put 1 fully cycled sponge filter in the tank, will that be enough? I have more available if needed. I can move them to a 20 or 29-gal next, after they grow some in the 10-gal. I will do a daily w/c, but with my working full time, the most I can feed them is 3x a day. I will buy a much larger tank soon, if I have luck with them, I will need about a 90-gal by May/June. I want to run Aquaclears on the back, and 3 or 4 sponges inside.

Also, I spray painted the back and sides of my 10-gal tank last night. Is this really safe??? I mean, seems like some fumes/chemicals could leach inside the tank through the silicone. I know no paint got inside of it, because I had it covered with newspaper and lots of masking tape. I am just paranoid!!!! The spray paint is so toxic.........and this is the first time I have every spray painted my background on.

Also, would it be okay to use a 150 watt Ebo Jagger heater in a 10-gal? I know that is kind of big watts for a 10, but worry that a smaller one might not keep the temp high enough (86-88).

All advice / tips welcome!!
Thanks!
Audrey

RyanH
02-28-2005, 02:27 PM
Hi Audrey,

Welcome to Simply! :)

If your tank is waterproof and does not leak then there is no reason to think that paint would get IN to the tank. If you need to put your mind at ease, maybe fill the tank and smell your water for any signs of paint. I have all of my tanks painted and I haven't had any problems.